Very Very V

If you’ve been anxiously awaiting another installment of the letter U, I’m sorry. I slacked. I did. U was a hard one. I could only think of “uncle” and “unicorn”. I mean, uncle? So, we just skipped ahead to letter V. And V? I like!

I chose John 15:5, “I am the vine. You are the branches.” This is one of the seven “I AM” sayings of Jesus. We’ve already done two of these verses previously (“I am the light” for I and “I am the good Shepherd” for S). I love these sayings because they are such great word pictures. (I’m thinking when we’re done with the ABC verses, we might do a “unit” on these I AM sayings.)

We started off doing starfall.com (which had a vacuum in it! what a perfect V word…I feel a vacuuming activity coming on!). Then we went to our bedroom window and looked outside. We have vines growing all over our house and you can see tons of it from our window. We looked at the vine, the branches, the leaves and talked about what would happen if the leaves came off. Lydia was enthralled. After explaining that we need to be connected to Jesus, I said, “Maybe we can go pick a vine tomorrow.” She said, “No. The leaves would die!” (Or something like that…she was getting the idea!)

Anyway, back to our craft…

Yesterday while I was buying all the YUMMY craft supplies for our BUCKET O’CRAFTS giveaway*, Lydia and I bought some glitter. I’ve been wanting to do glitter with her because I knew she’d love it, but didn’t have any laying around. I bought several different colors and we made a beautiful glittery green vine!

I did the curly vine, let Lydia dump the glitter (which honestly didn’t work too well). Then I cut out those amazing leaves and let her glue them on.

She loves the vine and wants to do MORE. GLITTER. So, get ready for some more glitter crafts, I’m sure.

We also printed off a V handwriting sheet from Christian Preschool Printables and lo and behold–it’s got our verse on it, too. Lydia is getting pretty good at tracing the letters. I’m…yup, impressed!

Not only was this one cute, it’s just a perfect tie in for the verse, the letter and for life! I’ve got another good vine craft up my sleeve. Tonight we’re going to a Harvest Party-thingie at my mom’s church (wait till you see what my kids are dressed up as!) but I’ll be sharing our vine with you soon!

*we’ll announce the winner today or tomorrow, I promise!

1 Comment

Filed under abc, letter of the day, verse

One response to “Very Very V

  1. Leigh

    look at Lydia tracing those V’s!!! WOW! I haven’t printed that worksheet out b/c I didn’t think EJ would do it, but… I will now!!!