Show and Tell

Lydia and I have been doing our “abc verses” for several months now. And with each new letter, it was easy to review the letter before. Well, for about ten letters or so. Any more and Lydia would get a little bored with reciting and honestly, I couldn’t remember all of them!

We usually display the letter and verse of the week in an inconspicuous spot in the living room. But what to do with all the other verses? I wanted them out where we could review them. But good grief, where do you hang 26 pieces of construction paper? So, I decided to bite the keep-her-room-cute bullet and display all of them  in her room. And of course, we made a craft project out of it!

I grabbed a few clothespins (which I usually have for keeping frozen veggie bags closed), the few paints I own and paintbrushes cut up sponges.

We ripped open a Trader Joe’s bag for a dropcloth and begain to paint. Well, sponge paint.

Lydia was beyond excited about this. She could have done it for hours. We only painted one side of the clothespins. We didn’t even make them super cute. It was just about the experience! Although, I did bust out a few rainbow clothespins and even a wordless book clothespin.

However, her favorite part was washing her hands in the bowl of water I used to rinse the sponges out.

Once the clothespins were dry this morning (Lydia insisted they were dry last night but I made her wait), we attached a few ribbons to the back of her door and clipped up our masterpieces.

I have to admit, it’s not the most aesthetically pleasing thing you’ve ever seen. But, looking at all those papers reminded me of all the time we’ve spent together talking about God’s Word. It reminded me of the things I really want to instill into my kids’ hearts.

As we hung up the verses, we reviewed each one. And I was impressed (yes, impressed!) with how many she really really knew. There were a few she couldn’t say but mostly she could say them all by herself! God’s Word is growing in her heart!

YAY, ME! Yay, Lydia!

2 Comments

Filed under activity, why

2 responses to “Show and Tell

  1. Leigh

    Fabulous and ingenious. I have something not so creative up my sleeve, but it has to wait until I finish EJ’s room. Probably around Christmas.

  2. Lisa in ME

    Great idea! I love the whole idea & I know my boys would be thrilled to paint the clothespins. 😉