Daily Archives: September 10, 2008

Bubble art

Today’s activity was so much fun.  Bubble art!  There are so many posts/tutorials/examples of this on the web, with tons of different ways to do this, so I just made up my own bubble paint with products I had on hand.
bubble art supplies

Bubbles left over from party favors, washable paint, cups, plates, bubble wands, and bubble wrap.  I experimented with the bubble paint solution – adding more paint until it seemed concentrated enough, and then adding a tad bit more water so the bubbles were easier to blow.  Then I cut a couple small sections of the bubble wrap to act as stamps to dip directly into paint.  See?mixed bubble paint

bubble wrap

 

 

 

 

We headed outside (what a wonderful day – high in the low 70’s in Virginia in September – unheard of!!!) with our paints and a big piece of butcher paper.  EJ started blowing bubbles onto the paper right away – and never touched the bubble wrap stamps.  Oh well.
blowing bubble art

The bubble art quickly changed into chasing bubbles around the yard, which was tons of fun, too.  Notice his new painting t-shirt: a blue Beatles t-shirt* that I “outgrew” a while ago.  More Bs!!!
blowing bubbles

We also blew big bubbles in our cups!

Cup bubbles

Here’s a glimpse of our finished product.  It’s hanging up to dry, and I want to hang it up in EJ’s room when it’s ready.  I’ll get some pictures of it hanging up before the B week is over. 

bubble art

This project was a hit.  I think if I were to do it again, I’d use food coloring to tint the bubbles – the paint I used didn’t do exactly what I wanted it to do.  Others have also used tempura paint (powdered), but I didn’t have any on hand.  The bubble wrap stamps were not as interesting, although I had fun with them.  It might be more fun as a large scale project just using the bubble wrap.  The extra bubble wrap will be popped soon enough, though, bringing more bubble fun to our B week. 

*EJ’s still wearing the Beatles t-shirt.  I’m going to make him a Beatles fan after all!

1 Comment

Filed under abc, activity

R: Rainbows

Today was all about rainbows! And not just any rainbows, God’s rainbow! We read four different Noah stories today. (Well, same story, just from different books. You know what I mean.) I told Lydia to make sure to let me know when she saw the rainbow as we were reading. When we got to the final page of each story, she almost jumped up and down, “Rainbow! Rainbow!”

The first book is my absolute favorite book in the whole world, The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd Jones. If you haven’t read it, you MUST BUY IT NOW. It’s really one of the best kid’s books I’ve ever read. (Here’s a full review by moi.)

The best line in Noah’s story is,

“And there, in the clouds–just where the storm meets the sun–was a beautiful bow made of light…God’s strong anger against hate and sadness and death would come down once more–but not on his people, or his world. No, God’s war bow was not pointing down at his people. It was pointing up, into the heart of Heaven.”

Isn’t that awesome?! That’s how this whole book is—along with humor and fabulous illustrations.

Then we “read” the next two, Noah’s Ark by Peter Spier and See With Me Bible, illustrated by Dennis Jones. I say “read” because they are both picture books. But Lydia was enthralled nonetheless. Both of these books are humorous and real portrayals of what it must have been like in a crowded, stinky and loud ark for months and months.

We also read one of our old favorites, a book Lydia got for her first birthday, Elephant’s Big Ride, which I think is part of the Beginner’s Bible.

So, after getting the “real” rainbow into our heads, I pulled out the supplies for our activity…are you ready? Because I’m so proud of myself. Not because I made this up, because I certainly didn’t, but just that I pulled it off!

RAINBOW BREAD

Supplies:
several small containers
food coloring (prefereably red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple)
small paintbrushes (or q-tips)
sliced bread
milk

Directions:
1. Pour a tiny bit (a few tablespoons) of milk into each small container. Then add a few drops of food coloring so each container is a different color of the rainbow.

For some reason I only had neon food coloring. So, we didn’t have red. And our orange is a little nutmeg, but it got the point across.

2. Use paintbrushes to paint a rainbow (or random pictures) on bread).

2b. Wait! You might want an apron or an old shirt. This can get messy…

3. Show off your creation.

4. Toast.

5. Be amazed at how different exactly the same they look before and after toasting. (Well, mine did actually look a little darker than before…)

6. EAT. I made a PBJ for me. Lydia dipped hers in hummus. (Sorry, no pics. It wasn’t that exciting.)

Lydia looooooved making rainbow bread! She thought it was so fun. This would be fun for almost anything you were doing. Painting different shapes, animals or letters. What a great thing to let the kids do while you’re cooking. Then they can eat their creations during the meal.

I’m lovin’ me some “R”!!

ps…we also read Robert the Rose Horse by Joan Heilbroner before Lydia’s nap. Because really, how much better of an “r” book can you get?

***
Did you notice our new little button in the sidebar? Feel free to snag it and link to us on your blog! We’d be honored!

2 Comments

Filed under activity, books