H is for Homeschooling?

Not much is happening right now with our study of the letter H – I keep thinking I wish I had found the game Hungry Hungry Hippo out there somewhere before I started this week!

Thoughts about education have been running through my head, though.  I’m the mom of two very young little boys, and I know I have a ways to go before final decisions are made about their education, but I am already thinking about homeschooling the boys.  And I’m so excited about it!  Since I just noticed that WordPress has added a polling option for posts, I’d like to run a little poll…  Are you thinking about homeschooling your children?

Now, I also don’t know the “demographics” of the people out there who might be stopping by our little blog – I’d love it if you’d leave a comment about how old your child/ren is/are… and if your answer is anything that would fall into the “Other” catagory (that apparently I left off the poll – sorry!), please leave a comment with your thoughts as well! 

This will be fun for me to learn who out there is thinking along the same paths as I am, and if I can bring some information to the table for discussion and for thought, that might be fun, too!

 

 

If you didn’t get a chance to enter yesterday, check out our addition to the Bloggy Giveaway Carnival!

7 Comments

Filed under poll

7 responses to “H is for Homeschooling?

  1. Yep, I knew I wanted to homeschool my kids before I even had ’em!

    I have a 6 yo boy who is officially homeschooled and a 2 yo girl along for the ride, raised outside of daycare and preschool, just like her brother.

    It is fun, and interesting, and rewarding, and we love it!

  2. I could write a whole post about this…maybe we should do a tag-team post on it?

    When Lydia was smaller I *knew* I wanted to homeschool b/c I couldn’t imagine ANYONE even speaking to her without my approval! LOL! Now I don’t feel so strongly about it. When we were Children’s Pastors I got to see LOTS of different families—and I saw 2 extremes w/homeschooling, they were either AWESOME or TERRIBLE. They would be textbook for either pro-anti homeschool debate. I think to be a homeschool parent, you have to commit to it being your FULL and COMPLETE ministry and job. I know that sounds trite, but that’s the only way you can make it AWESOME.

    Blah, blah…

  3. I just found your blog through the giveaway and came back again today. I do homeschool. I am the mom of 7 . 🙂 I personally think that having them at home is wonderful. I get to experience everything with them and in particular boys. You might want to read the book called The minds of Boys. I can remember who the aurthor is but It puts a whole spin on boys in the education system weather your school at home or not.

    Also ideas for H… Make a harp cardboard of course or a native American headdress, learn about hawks or horses, or hamsters, or hearts. lol

    Have a great day
    Nikki

  4. My kids are 5, 3, 2, and 9 months and I don’t have the space (we live in a trailer) or the patience for formal homeschooling!!! I hope that I am teaching them things day to day in our activities, but know that I could do better with this, too.

  5. Lisa in ME

    I never dreamed I’d be a SAHM let alone a homeschooling one. When my oldest (who is now 12) was 4-1/2 I had baby #2. I quit my job to stay home & raise my kids & then realized within a few short moths I’d be shipping son #1 off to school where he would be spending more time with other adults who would be influencing him. After I realized all that, I chose to keep them home. There are definitely days when it’s CRAZY around here (I now have 3 boys plus I babysit two toddler girls), but I seriously wouldn’t have it any other way.

  6. I have an 8 year old and a 3 year old, both boys, We knew homeschooling was our best option and though it is not easy it is really amazing to watch my oldest as he learns and grows daily. Many days I want to quit but I know that this is still what is best for our family and thankfully God grants me the strength to make it through those days!

  7. Hi! I have two sons also, three and one. I am so excited about homeschooling! We live in the Richmond area as well, and there is so much support for it here. I was a school teacher in Chesterfield, and although it’s a great county, I know that my child will not have an excellent teacher each year. Check out the blog entry I did on homeschooling for more. Best wishes!