Making Memories…

Last week was our “M” week…. and it’s been extended into this week as well.  I didn’t get a chance to do many things with EJ surrounding the letter M (or take any pictures, either)… except we are making many memories together.

I love this time of year – I have so many fun memories from when I was a child that my family still tries to keep up today.  I want those traditions to become fun memories for my children as well…  and I want to add new ones that give special meaning to Christmas.

A wonderful memory we are working on is making music together as a family.  I chose the verse, Let the mountains sing together with joy. Psalm 98:8, to work on together for the letter M, and I love how it shows how all creations sings the wonders of God…

EJ has recently come out of a “no singing” phase – just in time, too!  I don’t know what I would’ve done if he got all upset each time I wanted to sing a Christmas carol.  Now we are singing together all the time.  Of course, a favorite is Jingle Bells, but a children’s choir he is in is singing Away in a Manger and Joy to the World in a candlelight service on Sunday.  I love hearing his little voice quietly singing about the baby Jesus and then belting out with joy at the coming of the King.  Note to self… get out Flip Video camera and actually record some of these memories!!!

100_8044

We also have a lot of musical talent in our family.  My husband, Josh, is an amazing guitar player (that’s how I met him!), and our sister-in-law was a music major and still teaches piano… We keep talking about getting together to sing carols with Josh on guitar and Laura on the piano – we had an impromptu sing-a-long after Thanksgiving dinner that foreshadowed beautiful music for years to come!

What special memories are you making with your family this year?  We’d love to hear about them!  And look for my special memory this Wednesday in our Joyful Impressions Carnival

Here’s wishing you many merry musical memories as well!

leighsig

1 Comment

Filed under letter of the day, verse

One response to “Making Memories…

  1. I wish I was musical! Of course, it doesn’t stop me from singing. Lydia loooves Christmas music–we sing Joy to the World about 400 times a day!