“Do not fear…”

… we’re on to letter F!  F is for fun, friends, family, flowers, farmer, fireman, football, food, fruit, fox, flag, father, fall, fish, frog… I know I’m leaving some out!

We kicked the week off early with some family time!  EJ is finally old enough to really be able to play with someone else, which has made the past couple get-togethers with his older cousin tons of fun!

They were inseparable, which was fabulous to watch.  There was also some football on TV, which was fabulous and fun as well.

Today, we went over our F verse, “Do not fear, for I am with you.” (Isaiah 41:10).  EJ’s been acting “scared” a lot lately – perhaps a symptom of his age, but it doesn’t help that this age falls in with all the frightful Halloween displays at the store.  We’ve always prayed that God would take away all scary things from the house and all scary thoughts from our head, and I thought a simple verse proclaiming God’s power over fear would be a good idea to back all of that up. 

The verse is also the basis for one of the Seeds Family Worship songs – one that I really like and is easy to pick up.  I realized what I was doing wrong with choosing and trying to teach a verse each week – or rather, what I wasn’t doing right.  I wasn’t praying about it.  I would pray about our week, but not about which verse specifically we should focus on, or how to present it to EJ, or that EJ’s heart would be softened towards the verse.  Once I prayed for all of that, the burden just felt like it fell off my shoulders and verses just popped into my head.  I am not limiting the verses to the ones in the Seeds Worship CDs, but if it happens to have a song attached to it, I will use the CD to help.

Something else I did last week was create a special playlist in our iTunes for the week.  I put any and all children’s songs that had important “E” words in it into the playlist, and we had our own soundtrack for the week!  It was fun, and not too mind-numbingly repetitive.  I’ve done the same this week, and I hope we will enjoy it as much!

We’ve got some fun activities planned this week with fruit and family-flowers, and I’m thinking about something firetruck-related.  We’ll see if that pans out at all. So, finally, we’re back on track!

Comments Off on “Do not fear…”

Filed under abc, letter of the day, verse

Comments are closed.