B is for Boy

coloring

B is FUN!!!!  I have so many ideas running around in my head for this week – and something planned for each day!  Do you realize how many kid-friendly B-words there are?  Bike, ball, boat, bird, bat, bear, broccoli (a favorite here – really!), book, Bible, balloon, bubble… the list goes on and on!  I kept thinking of new ones all day.  Boo-boo, big, Big Boy (one of EJ’s nicknames), baby, Backyardigans…

As I looked for a B verse for the week, I kept coming back to the word “Believe.”  “Everything is possible for the one who believes.” and “Anyone who believes in Christ is a new creation. The old is gone! The new has come!” were my top runners until I came across “Children, obey your parents as believers in the Lord. Obey them because it’s the right thing to do.” Eph 6:1 (NIrV).  Bingo!  We are working hard on obedience daily – the poor little 2 year old does everything in his power to not obey us most days, it seems.  So this is the perfect verse for us this year week. 

 B verse

EJ circled the B’s in the verse (no glue this week!), and we actually talked about it first, instead of leaving it until last like I did last week.  He was much more interested in it this time.

Then we colored and outlined our B alphabet sheet from First School.  EJ really worked hard to outline the letters on the worksheet – it’s kind of hard to see the parts he did in yellow – but I was so impressed… I didn’t say anything like, “Now, draw the B…”  I just opened the box of crayons and he started outlining them!

 the letter B

We also looked at other things that start with the letter B (bell, bee, binoculars, banana, berry, butterfly, bus…).  I’m not so excited about my clipart creation this week.  I think what made it such a hit last week was that he got to use the glue (which he asked for immediately today).  I had already glued the cutout pictures to a sheet of brown (blue, black, beige…) paper so I could avoid the mess.  EJ barely looked at them this time.  sigh… I really need to get over my fear OCD concern about messes so I don’t stifle my children’s creativity.  And for goodness sake – I have two BOYS!  Things are going to get messy around here!!!

B is for...

And I also have a drawing to share… like Lydia’s robot, Razi, EJ’s drawing of faces has taken big steps.  I’ve labelled the individual parts, since my husband couldn’t tell what he was seeing.  But EJ specifically said, “Eye, eye, nose, smile.  And I want HAIR!”

first faces!!!

In case you’re wondering… Tasha is the Tasha from the Backyardigans.  Those guys are all he talks about some days. 

And I know I’ve flooded you with pictures today, but I have one more to share.  B is for BROTHERS!

BROTHERS!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “B is for Boy

  1. Broccoli is a big hit in our house too!! And I’m like you…I have to keep reminding myself that I have a BOY and there will be messes, and I just need to get used to it and start having fun! So yesterday we went on the porch and I let him crawl all around and poke things and chase bugs…then he went straight into the bath. Haha!

  2. B is for brothers! How sweet!

    And I love the eyes and nose…isn’t it funny how they just suddenly “got it”?

  3. Oh those are some beautifully handsome kiddos! Kudos!